Posted on

Been away from the blog for a week or so. Ideas on future blog entries.

The plugboard (Steckerbrett) is positioned at ...

The plugboard (Steckerbrett) is positioned at the front of the machine, below the keys. When in use, there can be up to 13 connections. In this photograph, two pairs of letters are swapped (S↔O and A↔J). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Enigma-logo

Enigma-logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am sorry that I have not updated my blog in a week or more. Long story and reasons why. I am back.. I am healthy and will be posting more in the coming days. Thanks for the nice comments I have received and the ones that have not been so nice as well (although to be honest there has not been one single negative comment and I have been expecting them). I have some great ideas about things I want to research and present to you. Be safe and take care.

In addition to my drone post and I will add this to the post as well.. there was a good program on NPR Fresh Air yesterday covering drones and how the Obama administration is dealing with it.

http://www.npr.org/2013/02/12/171719082/the-sticky-questions-surrounding-drones-and-kill-lists

EDIT: Off topic. I watched a fantastic program on NOVA the other night. Earth from Space. Link is below. I will have my post about JSOC up tomorrow at some point. Have a little work to do still.

http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/space/earth-from-space.html

A pretty devastating book has been written about the first term Obama administrations foreign policy. Basically the book alleges Obama FP is run by a small pretty inexperienced team. They instead of making the tough choices make the choices that in line with Public Opinion.

Ok I have narrowed it to roughly two things.

1. Cryptography (Code Breaking)– I have been reading a few books recently on Code Breaking and it is amazingly interesting. Things such as the German Enigma machine to the Japanese method.. the use of one time pads etc. To what is being done now in terms of masking things. Otherwise known as encryption.

2. JSOC- Joint Special Operations Command. The secretive branch of the Military that was responsible for taking out Bin Laden plus many of the Drone strikes being done now.

http://www.socom.mil/pages/jointspecialoperationscommand.aspx

http://www.thenation.com/blog/160332/jsoc-black-ops-force-took-down-bin-laden#

If anyone has a request one way or the other please message me otherwise I will pick one of the two.

English: United States Joint Special Operation...

English: United States Joint Special Operations Command (JSOC) emblem (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Enhanced by Zemanta
About dgarnold

More interests than I can count.. enjoy Foreign Policy, Current events, Books, Game theory,Sports (both watching and participating) and of course my Labradors. Love Mountain Biking! World class backgammon player.

6 responses to “Been away from the blog for a week or so. Ideas on future blog entries.

  1. Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed!
    Very helpful information particularly the last part :
    ) I care for such info much. I was seeking this certain info for a very long time.
    Thank you and good luck.

  2. Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m inspired! Extremely useful info specifically the closing part 🙂 I deal with such information much. I used to be looking for this particular info for a very lengthy time. Thank you and best of luck.

  3. Hello superb website! Does running a blog similar to this take
    a large amount of work? I’ve no knowledge of coding however I had been hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyway, if you have any suggestions or techniques for new blog owners please share. I know this is off topic but I just needed to ask. Many thanks!

  4. I simply want to say I am new to blogs and actually savored you’re web blog. Likely I’m want to bookmark your website . You certainly come with terrific posts. Thanks a bunch for revealing your webpage.

  5. Anonymous

    Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  6. can i use your article on my website, if you allow?

Leave a Reply

