Posted on

Infinity. Pi.

I am not a scientist.. not am I a mathematician. I am totally fascinated by both however and wish I had done more in College with Math and Science. If you are familiar with the “Drake Equation” you know that it is based a bit on the idea of Infinity. It states basically and I am dumbing it down a bit so I can understand it… That if the Universe is Infinitely big the odds of there not being intelligent life elsewhere is infinitely small. I clicked on this article yesterday after reading the controversial NY Times opinion piece about the Constitution which I will cover later today (have to research some things and get my thoughts together). I clicked on it a bit by accident actually. Life of Pi was one of my favorite books I have ever had the pleasure to read. I thought that this article was about the book. I was happily mistaken because the article was very interesting and it will make you think.

Some highlights…

“If you take a finite physical system and a finite set of states, and you have an infinite universe in which to sample them, to randomly explore all the possibilities, you will get duplicates,” said Anthony Aguirre, an associate professor of physics who studies theoretical cosmology at the University of California, Santa Cruz.

Not just rough copies, either. “If the universe is big enough, you can go all the way,” Dr. Aguirre said. “If I ask, will there be a planet like Earth with a person in Santa Cruz sitting at this colored desk, with every atom, every wave function exactly the same, if the universe is infinite the answer has to be yes.”

This I found very interesting but not quite sure I understand it.. feel free to explain it to me in the comments or you can message me.

“In the late 19th century, the great German mathematician Georg Cantor took on infinity not as a means to an end, but as a subject worthy of rigorous study in itself. He demonstrated that there are many kinds of infinite sets, and some infinities are bigger than others. Hard as it may be to swallow, the set of all the possible decimal numbers between 1 and 2, being unlistable, turns out to be a bigger infinity than the set of all whole numbers from 1 to forever, which in principle can be listed.”

Please do listen to the 20 minute podcast that accompanies the article. You can link to it directly from the article or you can find it here (Free).

https://itunes.apple.com/podcast/science-times/id120316173?mt=2

Enjoy Science and Math. I will post my thoughts and a article (s) later today about the Constitution of the United States a very controversial subject especially with the current Second Amendment debate raging.

About dgarnold

More interests than I can count.. enjoy Foreign Policy, Current events, Books, Game theory,Sports (both watching and participating) and of course my Labradors. Love Mountain Biking! World class backgammon player.

Leave a Reply

